The Ontario Ministry of Training, Colleges, and Universities (MTCU) announced the Student Choice Initiative (SCI) on January 17, 2019. Under the policy, all Ontario universities and colleges must use provincial guidelines to classify services supported by students’ non-tuition ancillary fees as either essential or optional.

The guidelines stipulate that students should have the ability to opt out of "non-essential" or optional services. Students will not be charged for services they opt out off.

Harmonized Sales Tax (HST) will be applied to optional services.